All Collections
About The ARE
What happened to the Rolling Clock?
What happened to the Rolling Clock?

Rolling Clock has ended.

Lisa avatar
Written by Lisa
Updated over a week ago

After seventeen years, NCARB has finally decided to end the 5-year rolling clock as of May 1, 2023, Prior to its implementation in 2006 there had never been a rolling clock and passed divisions did not expire. NCARB's announced Score Validity Policy is not new, this is the same process that has existed through several versions of the ARE, without an arbitrary 5 year expiration date. Lke the transition from 4.0 to 5.0, where NCARB decided which passed 4.0 divisions would equate to a passed division in 5.0. NCARB will continue to determine score equivalencies from one ARE version to the next. Instead of losing the passed division at year 5, you will lose the pass when they decide it is no longer equivalent to a division in the latest version of the ARE. Based on past experience NCARB will likely announce the score validity of passed divisions in 5.0 to 6.0 at least a year in advance.

Did this answer your question?