All Collections
Our Programs
What does the Cybersecurity program cover?
What does the Cybersecurity program cover?
Trinity Burke avatar
Written by Trinity Burke
Updated over a week ago

You can view the full program syllabus here!

Merit America programs include both technical training from organizations like Google as well as professional skills development. You will learn technical content from Google, and receive a Google Cybersecurity Certificate. You will also learn and practice critical professional skills with Merit America coaches.

Upon completing the Google Cybersecurity Certificate, you'll develop a comprehensive understanding of cybersecurity practices, covering topics such as Information Security, Network Security, TCP/IP, Cryptography, Threat Analysis, and Security Frameworks like NIST Cybersecurity Framework (CSF) and Risk Management Framework (RMF). This hands-on program also equips you with practical experience in Python, Linux, SQL, and essential tools including Splunk, Chronicle, Wireshark, Tcpdump, and Suricata. The curriculum spans security domains such as Network Architecture, Threat Detection, Security Audits, Incident Response Playbooks, and Packet Analysis, emphasizing real-world skills to protect networks, devices, and data from unauthorized access and cyber threats.

In addition to technical training, support from your professional career coach will help you hone your professional skills and chart a roadmap for your cybersecurity career.

Upon completing the program, you'll be well-prepared to enter diverse cybersecurity-related roles, including but not limited to Junior Security Analyst, Junior Incident Responder, Tier I SOC Analyst, SOC Technician, Junior Network Administrator, Network Support Technician, Network Security Analyst, Help Desk Technician, IT Support Specialist, Desktop Support Technician, Information Security Technician, Junior Vulnerability Manager, and Vulnerability Analyst, among others.

Did this answer your question?