Skip to main content

Sim Local Coupon ESIMDISCOUNT10 – Read the Full Fine Print Before You Pay

Sim Local Coupon ESIMDISCOUNT10 gives 10% off at the online checkout. Here is the fine print: eligibility, product scope, excluded channels and how it is lost.

Written by John Mueller
Promo Code Guides

Sim Local Coupon ESIMDISCOUNT10 is a 10% discount code for Sim Local, the Dublin-based travel SIM and eSIM retailer, and it works by reducing the order total at the online checkout by a flat tenth. There is no tiering, no scaling with basket size and no separate reward step. That simplicity is the offer's main virtue, but it also means the interesting detail sits in the conditions around it rather than in the mechanics — what the code covers, where it cannot be used, and the handful of terms Sim Local does not publish alongside the string itself. This article works through that fine print in order.

The core term: a flat tenth, applied once

The headline condition is the arithmetic. A 10% reduction leaves you paying 90% of whatever the plan is listed at, so the calculation is a multiplication by 0.9 or a tenth worked out and subtracted. Nothing about that changes with the size of your basket. Buying the largest global plan does not unlock a deeper rate, and buying the smallest does not disqualify you from the discount — the percentage is the same in both directions.

The code is also a single string applied once at the order form, not a stored balance. This is worth stating plainly because the word "coupon" invites the wrong mental model. A voucher usually implies value you draw down over several purchases; ESIMDISCOUNT10 carries no balance at all. If you have searched for a Sim Local coupon, a Sim Local voucher or a Sim Local discount code, all three describe the same mechanism: a string typed into a field before you pay.

No wagering, turnover or accumulation conditions

Readers arriving from other kinds of promotional offer often expect a catch in the form of activity requirements — spend so much to release the benefit, complete some number of transactions, or refer another customer. None of that applies here. There is nothing to earn, refer or accumulate, and nothing conditional to keep track of after the purchase. You type a string and pay a tenth less.

That also means there is no window in which the discount could be clawed back for failing to meet a later condition. Once the reduced total has been charged, the discount element of the transaction is complete. What remains open after payment is the refund policy, which is a separate matter covered further down.

The excluded channel: airport shops, kiosks and vending machines

The most significant restriction on this code is not written in percentages — it is structural. Sim Local is not only an online store. It sells travel SIMs and eSIMs through airport shops, kiosks and vending machines, with airport locations named on its site including Dublin, London Heathrow, London Gatwick, Brussels, Athens, Madrid and Copenhagen, alongside US airport partnerships. An exclusive UK airport distribution partnership with WHSmith Travel dates from 2017.

A checkout coupon has no route into any of those transactions. There is no field to type it into at a vending machine, and handing the string to staff at a kiosk does not create one. If you first met the brand at an airport and want the 10% off, the purchase has to run through the website instead. Buying in person and asking afterwards is not a path to the discount, and this is the single most common way the offer is forfeited: not by breaching a rule, but by buying through a channel the rule cannot reach.

Product scope: what is confirmed and what is not

Sim Local's eSIM operation runs at an eSIM sub-site under the same brand and the same company, and alongside its global plans there are local and regional options. Whether ESIMDISCOUNT10 covers every product — including those local and regional plans, or physical SIMs bought online — is not stated. Neither is whether it works in the app as well as on the website. Apps exist for both iOS and Android, but app eligibility is not something the code itself confirms.

The honest reading is that the discount is documented against the online checkout and the global plans are where its effect has been observed. For anything beyond that, the checkout is the arbiter. Enter the code, and if the total falls, the product is covered; if it does not, it is not. That is a more reliable test than any assumption.

Regional and coverage limits sit in the plan, not the coupon

There is a second kind of exclusion that people mistake for a coupon condition: coverage. Sim Local is a retailer rather than a network operator. It resells plans from established operators, and its about page names EE, Orange, Lycamobile, Three, AU in Japan, True, Digicel and Mobifone among them. Each bundle therefore comes with its own country list, and those lists are built independently of the data allowance.

On the global plans listed at the time of research, the 50GB plan covered 117 countries and the 100GB plan 116, while the 30GB and 12GB plans covered 71 and the 20GB plan 72 — and the smallest plan, 3GB, covered 109. Buying more data does not automatically buy broader coverage. The practical consequence for anyone using the coupon is an order of operations: confirm your destination appears on the plan's country list first, choose the data size second, and apply the code last. A 10% saving on a plan that does not reach your destination is not a saving.

On overall reach, the company advertises more than 150 countries and regions, while its about page refers to plans from over 100 countries. Both are the company's own claims rather than independent assessments.

Terms that are simply not published

Being straightforward about gaps is more useful than filling them in. The following conditions are not stated anywhere alongside the code:

  • Any minimum spend required before the code registers

  • Any expiry date or campaign end point

  • Any per-customer limit on how often it can be used

  • Any first-order-only restriction for new customers

  • Whether hotspot and tethering are supported on the plans it discounts

None of those gaps is a reason to avoid the code. They are reasons to test it at the checkout and read what the checkout tells you rather than assuming a condition exists or does not. If a minimum spend or usage limit is in force, the order form is where it will surface.

How the discount is lost in practice

Setting aside the airport channel, the other way to forfeit the offer is procedural. A code that has not registered will not be honoured retroactively just because it was typed somewhere. The only confirmation that counts is a visibly reduced total on screen before payment details go in.

  1. Check the plan's country list covers your destination.

  2. Choose the data size and duration, and note the listed price before any discount.

  3. Open the checkout or cart and find the field labelled promo code, coupon, voucher or discount. If it is collapsed behind a link, it is usually near the order summary rather than the personal-details section.

  4. Enter ESIMDISCOUNT10 exactly as written, with no spaces, and confirm it.

  5. Verify the total has fallen by a tenth — you should be paying 90% of the listed price.

  6. Complete payment only after that check.

The exact position of the discount field is not worth stating precisely, because online checkouts differ and get redesigned. The sequence above holds regardless of layout.

Refunds are a separate set of terms

Sim Local advertises a "No Quibble Refunds" guarantee, framed as getting your money back if you change your mind. That is reassuring for a product bought before travel, but the conditions — anything about activated versus unused profiles, or time limits — are set out on the policy page. Read them there before relying on the guarantee, and treat them as independent of the coupon. The discount governs what you pay; the refund policy governs what happens if you decide not to travel or not to use the plan.

What the plans themselves commit to

For completeness, the product terms worth checking before you commit the discounted payment: activation happens within minutes, either through the app or by following instructions sent by email, with no physical SIM to swap. Networks are 4G, 5G or 3G depending on the plan and the local operator. Some plans include calls and SMS while others are data-only, with calls and texts described as available in popular destinations — so if voice matters, check the specific plan page rather than assuming. Sim Local also advertises up to 10GB of full-speed data daily without throttling, contrasting this with providers that slow down after smaller daily amounts. That is the company's own claim, and it is not a claim of unlimited data.

Taken together, the fine print on this code is short but has real edges. The discount is unconditional in the sense that nothing has to be earned, and conditional in the sense that it only exists inside one buying channel and may not reach every product in the catalogue. Sort the purchase online in advance and the tenth off is yours; leave it until the terminal and no rule will retrieve it.

Promotional terms, eligibility and values are set by the provider and can change at any time. Always confirm the current terms on the official site before signing up or completing a purchase.

Did this answer your question?