There are two play modes in NumBots which serve different purposes:

Story Mode – the emphasis is on learning the ideas and concepts behind addition and subtraction so it features more diagrams, shapes and question styles.

Challenge Mode – the emphasis is more on speed of recall of key facts, like number bonds to 10, doubling small numbers or adding & taking away in your head

Story Mode (for developing understanding)

In Story Mode, the emphasis is on mathematical concepts and is underpinned by a mastery approach to teaching. Story Mode features visual representations, procedural variation, exposure to different calculation strategies and interleaved material all in very carefully sequenced order.

Unlocking Levels in Story Mode

Story Mode contains 18 Stages (Rust, Iron, Tin etc.) which each contain levels, a bit like Angry Birds. Initially Rust (Stage 1) level 1 is unlocked, so this is the place for most children to start. Find out how to skip the early stages here.

To unlock the next level, players need to earn two stars by showing sufficient proficiency.

The levels in Story Mode follow a natural mathematical progression and move the pupil through the game automatically, which means you don’t have to set anything! (You’re welcome 😊)

Challenge Mode (for improving fluency)

In Challenge Mode, the emphasis is on rapid responses to essential facts and simple sums, against the clock. Each Challenge focuses on a key skill or objective. Find out which skills are covered in Challenge Mode here.

Unlocking Challenges

Challenge Mode is locked for new users and Challenge 1 is unlocked once players reach level 80 on Story Mode.

There are 20 Challenges in total. To unlock the next Challenge, players must correctly answer 12 questions in a minute. 

Did this answer your question?