Skip to main content

What is "Lock editing"?

And how does it work?

With "Lock editing", your blocking setup stays locked—so you don’t override it by editing or deleting in a moment of weakness.

When enabled, any attempt to edit or delete any "Blocks" triggers a 12-hour unlock timer, preventing instant changes.

After 12 hours, the "Daily limit", "Blocked hours", or "Always blocked" settings will be unlocked, and you'll be able to make changes.

This helps curb impulsive decisions and reinforces your commitment to healthier phone habits.


Why am I seeing a suggestion to turn on "Lock editing"?

If you edit the same block several times, Roots will show a one-time suggestion to turn on "Lock editing" for that block. You can dismiss it - it only appears once per block.
​
​

How does it work?

You can apply this to any new or existing "Block" by toggling "ON" "Lock editing". (see image below)

Need more help? 


Get personal help from one of our founders here.

Did this answer your question?