Syncing & saving serve distinct purposes in StudioBinder and impact your project differently. You can save when you want to save edits to the screenplay & sync when you want to push your script to the rest of your project. Follow along to learn more!
Note: If you have a VPN or any plugins enabled, it may disrupt StudioBinder's ability to save your screenplay. For the best results, we recommend turning them off while working.
Saving
This is how StudioBinder preserves your work. The screenplay editor automatically saves your screenplay every 20 seconds.
Note: Any changes made here will not affect the rest of your project until you decide to sync your script to your project.
Syncing
When you sync your script with your project, StudioBinder uses its scene numbers to integrate it throughout your project. These scenes automatically appear in tools such as shot lists, breakdowns, and stripboards, as and the rest of your project.
Note: If you sync a revised screenplay with different scene numbers &/or sluglines, it will replace all the old scenes with the new ones & change across all aspects of your project. Your work is not lost or deleted; in fact, you can roll back to a previous version of your stripboard.
Now that you understand the difference between syncing and saving, explore more ways to manage your project:


