Skip to main content
What are "default proficiency levels"?

Use "default proficiency levels" to quickly adjust your proficiency levels to an even scale from 0 to 100.

Updated over a week ago

In order to help scoring stay consistent and easy, Writable has introduced "default proficiency levels," an option that allows you to choose evenly distributed percentages from 0 to 100 on your rubric item.

Enabling default proficiency levels will adjust each of your proficiency levels to go from 0 to 100, based on the number of levels.

Let's take a look at a couple of the most common examples:

Example 1: Rubric Item with 5 Proficiency Levels

Rubric items with 5 proficiency levels will break down to 100, 75, 50, 25, and 0%.

Example 2: Rubric Item with 4 Proficiency Levels

With 4 proficiency levels, the default will set them to 100, 67, 33, and 0%.


  • Adding a new proficiency level will automatically recalculate the default proficiency scores.

  • Uncheck the 'Use default proficiency levels' option to adjust each level's percentage manually. You get to decide!

  • Currently, proficiency levels must be adjusted on each rubric item individually.

Not sure the best way to set up your scoring? Don't worry, we're here to help! If you are still unsure of how you'd like to set up your Writable scoring reach out to us at or in the live chat.

Related Articles:

Did this answer your question?