As employees come and go, you'll want to create new users and deactivate the ones no longer employed by you.

You don't want to change the route name to a new employee because that also changes the history as to who completed those stops. This is not good should you be audited.

The way the work orders are connected to the tech in the database is through the route, so when that is updated in the user profile, the original tech is no longer connected to the work order. 

Use the following procedure to activate / deactivate a tech:

  1. Click the Settings gear icon in the upper right
  2. Click Users & Routes
  3. Deactivate the former user
  4. Click the Update user button
  5. Click the New User button in the upper right
  6. Add the new user and route
  7. Click Save
  8. Click Edit to the right of the user whom you deactivated
  9. Click Move Work to Another Route
  10. From the Destination Route drop-down, select the new user
  11. Click Move Work Now
  12. Click Save

Note If the route is updated in the profile and not 'moved' then the service history will not be accurate (updating the profile updates the service history).  

See also: Cannot delete route with work orders

May 2017
Updated, March 2019

Did this answer your question?